top of page

Ashwini (அசுவினி): The Beginner

Placement: 00° 00’ to 13° 20’ of Aries

Element: Earth (Bhumi)

Ashwini is the first nakshatra among the 27 nakshatras, and as such, it marks the beginning of everything, including life. It is said to have a magical quality, bestowing its natives with magical abilities and knowledge. As it is also a fast-moving nakshatra, with the moon transiting over it faster than others, any actions taken on this day are believed to be carried out more quickly.

Deity: The deity of Ashwini nakshatra is the Ashwini Kumaras, the twin brothers who are known as the celestial physicians with magical powers for healing the wounded and bringing the dead back to life. The name Ashwini is derived from their association with horses as they were born to Lord Surya (Sun) and his wife Sanjana in horse and mare form, resulting in their physical form having a horse's head and a human body. These brothers are forever young, agile and never age. Despite being identical twins, they differ in nature, as one brother prepares the medicine while the other applies it. One is sattvic and the other is tamasic, yet they remain inseparable.

Natural healers: Nakshatras such as Ashwini, Ardra, Pushya, Hasta, Anuradha, Moola, Dhanishta, Satabishak, and Revati have the natural ability to heal.

Ruler: Ketu, the oldest planet in astrology and the planet of creation, rules over Ashwini nakshatra. This nakshatra is known for its swift and transformative energy, which is also associated with Lord Ganesha, the deity of new beginnings, power, and success. While Ketu is often associated with endings, it's important to remember that every ending marks the start of something new. As a result, Ashwini nakshatra is considered to be an auspicious time for starting new projects and endeavors.

To gain philosophical wisdom, one must possess knowledge of the lunar nodes, Rahu and Ketu.

Symbol: This nakshatra is symbolized by the "horse's head". As the head is the supreme organ in the body and carries all five sensory organs, it holds great significance. Wearing a crown on one's head signifies royalty and authority, which is why the Sun gets exalted in this nakshatra.

Guna: This nakshatra is characterized as Rajasic, with a focus on continuous physical activity and an emphasis on swift movements.

Animal: The animal symbol associated with Ashwini nakshatra is the male horse, or stallion. As the twin deities of the nakshatra are associated with horses, this is not surprising. Horses are renowned for their speed, with their beautiful manes and stunning looks adding to their appeal.

Power: The power attributed to this nakshatra is "Shidra Vyapani Shakti", which refers to the ability to quickly reach one's destination or achieve one's goal.

General attributes: Individuals who are strongly influenced by Ashwini nakshatra exhibit twin personalities in nature. They may experience sudden shifts from being silent to being vocal, or from being idle to taking action. They are natural healers, and their words or actions may carry a certain healing energy. As it is the first nakshatra and where the Sun first gets exalted, they always possess the energy to create or initiate something. They are likely to value constant physical movement, strength, and courage. The influence of Ketu may make them selfless, but it can also make them reckless at times. Sitting in one place for an extended period can be challenging for them, and their lives will always be full of movement and new experiences. It is important to note that these are general qualities, and individual experiences may vary.


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page