top of page
  • Arun Kumar Subramanian

Grahas, Pancha bhutas and Yoga mudras


Mudra in sanskrit means a gesture, symbol or a seal. We all have our own mudras, for ex. if you’re always smiling then it is your mudra. Whenever someone looks at you, he/she will be greeted with your smile, later wherever he/she sees a smile it’ll remind them of you. That's the power of mudra. Every living creature on earth has their own mudra. When you use that mudra you can manipulate them at your will. The magic is you have to resonate in the same frequency.

Sometimes these mudras can be intangible as well for ex. a plant or tree has signs of nourishment as their mudra, they show it physically through their growth. They nourish you through vegetables, fruits, medicines, shade and more. So mudras are an intrinsic part of life. But this intangible mudras are hard to do (sometimes the hardest). That's when you seek the help of pancha bhutas.

Note: Mudra is also an easy way to find which planet is strong and weak in your chart. You’ll know it by trying that mudra in your hand. The strongest planet’s mudra becomes the easiest.

Pancha Bhutas and Grahas

Pancha bhutas/five elements are the foundation of everything in the world/universe. Pancha bhutas are

1st element - ether/akash

2nd element - air/vayu

3rd element - fire/agni

4th element - water/jala

5th element - earth/prithvi

This order is maintained in vedic philosophy because they already knew (long before our scientists) that ether is space itself, the primary element that created gas formations (2nd element) which then created heat aka fire (3rd element). Overtime it cooled down to become liquid (4th) then further down to become solid (5th). It means that space contains the intangible matter only (we now call it dark matter), air contains both air and space, fire contains fire air and space, water contains water fire air and space, earth contains earth water fire air and space. That's the order.

Every element has two properties such as:

Ether - space and sound

Air - expansion and touch

Fire - heat and light

Water - liquidity and taste

Earth - stability and smell

Humans, animals, plants, planets, stars, galaxies are all made of the same five elements. Of course the end product may differ based on their mix. For ex. if you're thin and your brother is fat it means you're made of more fire element and he's made of more air/water. Whatever you see outside is inside you (in a different form) and vice versa. When you read Surya is associated with your digestive organs it means the digestive organs are made of pitta (fire) element just like Surya. So they both are connected. You can fix your digestive organs by fixing your Sun. The same goes to every other body part. Its also the same with subtle body aka mind body or energy body. The energy body around you is intangible but they are also made of pancha bhutas (intangible). They simply reflect the tangible version of your body. So by fixing your intangible body you can fix your tangible one and vice versa. Thus the saying happy people tend to live longer.

Pancha Bhutas and Pancha Indriyas

Pancha Indriyas are five external sensory organs (ear, skin, eye, mouth, nose) in our body. Indriya means equipment. In Ayurveda it is called organ. Our organs are our equipments.

Ether - Sound - Ear (Shrotra)

Air - Touch - Skin (Sparshana)

Fire - Light - Eye (Chakshu)

Water - Taste - Mouth (Rasana)

Earth - Smell - Nose (Ghraana)

Surya Mudra

Surya Mudra is for the agni (fire) element. It'll help you connect with the Surya within you. It'll improve the fire element in your body and mind even if it's weak in your chart (especially if it's weak in your chart). Surya is the significator of the 1st and 10th house so this will help you fix your entire life including your obligations to the society.

Guru Mudra

Guru Mudra aka Gyan Mudra is for the vayu (air) element of the body. It'll help you connect with the Guru within you. Connecting with the Guru is important to find balance, wisdom and increase life expectancy. Yes, Guru is the natural jeeva karaka (significator of life) so this mudra also helps in increasing the life expectancy by slowing down the breath.

Prithvi Mudra

Prithvi Mudra is for the earth (land) element. It'll help you ground your energy within you. Although Venus mount is different one this Mudra helps in improving the Venus energy connected to earth. Venus is the beauty that grounds you towards this earthly realm. So doing this will align your energy.

Buddhi Mudra

Buddhi Mudra (Budhan) aka Varuna Mudra is for the water (jala) element. It'll help you connect with the Budha (Mercury) within you. Buddhi part of the mind helps you analyse the world logically which is what makes us different from animals like how water is making earth different from rest of the planets. It helps regulate water content in our body.

Akash Mudra

Akash Mudra aka Shani Mudra is for the ether (akash) element. Ether is the space inside and outside of us from the level of microcosm to macrocosm. It helps to reunite with the collective consciousness and align your emotions. It is a mudra of enlightenment.

Chandra Mudra

Chandra Mudra aka Moon Mudra is for the water and earth element. The combination of water and earth means life. Thus the mudra becomes a life saviour. It helps you enhance the mind and body by aligning your thoughts, words and actions. It helps clear your mind from fear, anxiety and depression.

396 views0 comments
bottom of page