top of page
  • Arun Kumar Subramanian

Purva Bhadrapada, the nakshatra of Hyper-duality

Placement: 20°00’ of Aquarius to 03° 20’ of Pisces

Element: Ether (Space/Akash)

Pushkara Navamsha/Bhaga: 2nd and 4th pada/NA

There are two stars (showing two sides) in this nakshatra. Purva Bhadrapada lies at the constellation of Pegasus. Pegasus in western mythology represents politics, conspiracies, big level secrets that can topple an entire government. This nakshatra is at the end of Aquarius, the natural 11th house. Hence it represents the highest of hopes, wishes and expectations. Purva Bhadrapada builds the bridge between 11th sign Aquarius and 12th sign Pisces. Aquarius represents the final stage of everything, as in humanity's best minds, best endeavours, best technology etc., it is the maximum happiness and maximum sadness, It is the best of both worlds. Whereas Pisces represents the beginning of out of the world imaginations and experiences. So bridging these two signs is an experience in and of itself.

Ruler: Guru (Jupiter) is the planetary ruler. Jupiter is known to be the most benevolent, the bringer of good luck. Since it is the last nakshatra ruled by Jupiter it becomes the luckiest among all nakshatras. It represents the culmination point of all the materialistic achievements. It means it also represents the other world aka the unknown. Jupiter is the only planet that can handle the unknown. Jupiter is the only planet in our solar system with massive storms the size of three times that of earth yet no imbalance whatsoever.

Symbolism: It is “front legs of a funeral cot”, which resembles the end or exit. It represents the end of everything we know like i said above. “Sword” is another symbol of this nakshatra which also indicates the permanent cutting/ending nature of it.

Animal: Lion is the animal of it. Lion is the vaahan (vehicle/mount) of Goddess Durga, a fierce form of Goddess Shakti. She destroyed Mahishasura, the buffalo headed asura (demon) who was trying to destroy the universe. The verses of Mahishasura Mardini talks about this in detail. Lions have immense power and energy but they don't show it usually like the planet Jupiter. Lion is also associated with Surya (Sun). So we can see the connection between Sun and Jupiter here. This is why the energy of this nakshatra is immense. One needs incredible patience and balance to contain the energy of this nakshatra.

It reminds me the story of Sage Vishwamitra. While doing intense penance to become the Brahma Rishi, Sage Vishwamitra was standing on one foot (Ekapada asana) for ages. It was the most intense penance of all. But it helped him weed out all his inner demons such as “Kama (lust), Krodha (anger), Lobha (greed), Moha (attachment), Mada (pride) and Matsarya (jealousy) aka Shadripu. Because he was a king before, he was materialistic, so he had to perform this penance to get out of all these to attain the state of Brahma Rishi, as in the Sage of Sages. Purva Bhadrapada carries such an energy that makes you put an end to everything you know so that you'll be lead to attain something bigger and better.


Deity: The deity of this nakshatra is Aja Ekapada. It is one of 11 different Rudras, who has one body with twin heads. Rudra is basically a form of Shiva. Rudras are created to bring an end to something to create something new (as a means of transformation). Vedic texts say that God Shiva is the inertia and Goddess Parvati is the energy. It means Shiva does everything through his Shakti aka Parvati. But the same texts say that Shiva creates Rudras as well especially when there is a dire need. Rudras are different embodiment of Shiva's energy. Aja Ekapada is depicted in different forms in different scriptures and upon which, my favourite is the one where God Shiva stands on one foot with Lord Brahma and Vishnu emerging out of him on either side of his body. This form is also said to be the ultimate stage of God Shiva when he destroys the universe and pulls back everything inside him including the trinity. Check the pic of Ajaikapada here.

The word Aja has few other meanings as well in Sanskrit and upon which, the meaning goat is used in many places in vedic scriptures. The word Ekapada means single foot. Since there are two stars in this nakshatra we can assume one star as the goat and other as the foot. This representation has the resemblance of goat headed Baphomet of western mythology. Baphomet is the dark lord who is ruling the underworld according to the same. It fits the description of Purva Bhadrapda in a way which you'll find below.

Aggression: Unlike the Sage Vishwamitra, humans don't have the determination and willpower to handle the intensity for too long that it may create a negative reaction at times. Crooks with a history of child abuse by strict parents is an example.

Inauspiciousness: You may wonder why it is considered as one of the most inauspicious nakshatras even though it is considered as the luckiest one. It's because it represents the best of both worlds. The best of goods and worst of bads, its duality on all levels. So you don't have to take the risk.

Guna: Sattvic nakshatra with more emphasis on attaining its goals by any means possible. Devas meet God by good deeds and asuras meet God by bad deeds.

Power: It represents "Yajamana Udyamana Shakti". The power to raise one's level through internal purification (like devotion, worship and penance).

General attributes: The native with its strong influence may resemble duality in a lot of ways. They may act like two different people in one body. They may be strong outside but weak inside or weak outside but strong inside. They have this tendency because they'll always think of what's beyond. It tends to make them delve deep into a subject (like a research) to find their comfort. They are goal oriented and will always be ready to attain their goals at all cost (like Vishwamitra was standing on one foot). Since it represents maximum desperation to achieve its goals, it tends to make the native destructive. The law of nature says that any particle/thing acting beyond the norm for too long tends to take a destruction course. It can be self-destruction or collision. Self-destruction means destroying the self, as in ego. Collision means destroying the others (violence). This is why it represents Hyper-duality. On one side it creates great sadhus and on the other side it creates extreme violence. These are general qualities, reader’s discretion is advised.

Remedy: Sri Ramakrishna Paramahansa, a renowned sadhu of 19th century was an ardent devotee of Goddess Kali so meditating on his picture can be a big remedy. This nakshatra is connected to Goddess Durga as well, so praying and chanting the Durga mantra and celebrating Durga Puja/Navaratri can be beneficial too. People with Rahu in this nakshatra can worship Goddess Durga at Rahu kaal on tuesdays and fridays as Durga is the presiding deity of Lord Rahu. The native needs a strong spirit to maintain the balance of this wild energy. That's why spirituality is super important.

Religious importance: In Tamilnadu (South India), the month of Maasi comes in between Feb and March every year when Sun transits through Aquarius. Religious festivals like Maha Shivaratri and Maasi Magam are celebrated in this month in Chidambram, the holy city of Lord Nataraja temple.




579 views0 comments
bottom of page