top of page

Sagittarius (Dhanu)

Sagittarius, known as Dhanu (धनु/தனுசு) in Sanskrit, is the ninth zodiac sign in the natural order. Its primary motto is wisdom and freedom. It's a sattvic dual fire sign, third after Aries and Leo, and third dual sign after Gemini and Virgo. While carrying similar traits from its predecessors, Sagittarius is unique in its evolution of these qualities.


  1. Sagittarius is a dual-natured sign that fights for its own and general causes it believes in.

  2. Its fire is purifying, destroying the bad and creating good.

  3. Its sattvic nature makes it focused on the next target, prone to distraction.

  4. Ruled by Jupiter, representing guidance, religion, law, higher studies, and philosophy.

  5. Depicted by a centaur with a bow and arrow, symbolizing strength, agility, and adaptability to circumstances.

  6. Governs the thighs and buttocks of the cosmic man.

  7. Gender is male.

  8. Three nakshatras: Moola, Poorvashadha, and Uttarashadha. These three nakshatras teach everything there is to know about Sagittarius. Moola teaches the basic of Sagittarius while the latter nakshatras teach the core and final essence of Sagittarius.

  9. Direction is east, color is yellow.

  10. Sign of great fortunes due to Jupiter's rulership.

  11. Connected to India, Japan, Yemen, Spain, Hungary, Cologne, and the Upper Himalayas.

  12. Connected to temples, universities, barracks, fireplaces, and highlands.

  13. Connected to weapons of war and their storage units.

  14. Connected to the sacral chakra/sacral plexus.

  15. Connected to Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirlingam (Varanasi).

  16. Solar deity is Lord Anshuman, mantra is “Om Ghrini Anshumanádityáya Namah”.

  17. No exaltation or debilitation sign, but Jupiter's Moolatrikona sign is Sagittarius.

  18. Connected to weapons of war and their storage units.

  19. Connected to Svadhisthana (sacral chakra/sacral plexus).

The Guiding light

Scorpio, known as the darkest zodiac, represents life's challenging moments. However, according to the law of nature, darkness is always followed by light. Sagittarius, the subsequent sign after Scorpio, acts as a beacon of hope, guiding those who have overcome Scorpio's difficulties. When faced with life's toughest moments, people often turn to religion or spirituality, making Sagittarius a symbol of hope and inspiration.


Sagittarius is the Moolatrikona sign for Jupiter, which means the sign of its origin or basis. Jupiter's Moolatrikona placement is between 0 and 10 degrees of Sagittarius, representing the guru whose actions are in sync with the natural law.

Sagittarius and Ninth House

The ninth house is closely associated with Sagittarius, as it reflects many of the same qualities as this zodiac sign. The ninth house governs areas such as higher education, philosophy, religion, and spiritual growth, all of which are strongly associated with the sattvic nature of Sagittarius. In addition, the ninth house also governs teachers, gurus, and guides, all of which are important figures in Sagittarian life. Understanding Sagittarius and its traits is therefore essential to understanding the ninth house, as it can provide insight into the areas of life that the ninth house governs. Additionally, as Sagittarius is associated with the thighs and buttocks in the kalapurusha (cosmic man), these body parts may also be relevant in interpreting the ninth house.


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page