top of page

Virgo (Kanya)

Virgo is the sixth sign in the natural zodiac order, known as Kanya (कन्या/கன்னி) in Sanskrit. It is a practical and grounded earth sign, following Taurus as the second earth sign and following Gemini as the second dual/mutable sign. However, the key difference is that Virgo is a tamasic, mutable earth sign. Its mutability allows it to switch between being movable or fixed, but if it becomes too fixed, it can lead to tamas. Virgo is focused on the present moment and is often associated with practicality.


  1. Virgo is a tamasic sign, focusing too much on perfection, and missing the importance of imperfections.

  2. The mutability makes it movable or fixed or both at any point of time.

  3. It loves service, stability, pleasures, comforts, nourishments, groundedness, practicality, and logical thinking because it's an earth sign.

  4. Virgo tends to self-loath on its failures and gets distracted from its target.

  5. It is ruled/owned by Mercury.

  6. The virgin young girl carrying a light in one hand and food/medicine in the other is the depiction of Virgo.

  7. Virgo governs the lower abdomen including intestines, liver, spleen, gall bladder of the kala purusha (cosmic man).

  8. It represents female gender.

  9. Virgo consists of three nakshatras namely Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, and Chitra.

  10. Its direction is south and grey is its color.

  11. Virgo is the most barren sign in its negative side.

  12. It is connected to countries like the United States, Turkey, Greece, Jordan, Lebanon, Croatia, Indian state of Andhra Pradesh, Orissa.

  13. It is connected to cities like Paris, Toulouse, Lyon, Padua, Chandigarh.

  14. It is connected to places like courtrooms, libraries, hospitals, borders & boundaries, border towns, barren lands, cabinets, closets, drawers, bookcases, concealed or private compartments, pharmaceuticals, granaries, cornfields, nurseries, breweries, storehouses of all sorts.

  15. It is connected to Vishuddha (throat chakra/cervical plexus) and the Mallikarjuna jyotirlingam temple.

  16. Its solar deity is Vivasván Adityá and the mantra is “Om Ghrini Vivasvánadityáya Namah”.

  17. Virgo is the exaltation and Moolatrikona sign of Mercury and the debilitation sign of Venus.

The Pivotal Role of Virgo

As the sixth sign, Virgo holds a crucial position in the zodiac belt, marking the border between the first and second halves. It acts as a pivot point where you establish personal boundaries while maintaining warm relationships with others. If Aries is where you begin your journey, Virgo is where you put your learned strategies to the test, becoming competitive and proving your worth to the world. It's a time when burning the midnight oil is necessary to succeed, even if it means sacrificing social events. Virgo is also the pivotal sign of the artha/earth trikona, sitting at the center of Taurus and Capricorn, making it the most materialistic sign. As a result, it tends to be tamassic, and sometimes self-critical.

Exaltation and Moolatrikona

Virgo represents the role of direct subordinates such as accountants, secretaries, strategists, and spies to a king. Planets placed in Virgo tend to adopt its characteristics, with Mercury being the only planet capable of doing so perfectly. This is why Mercury is exalted in this sign, with its maximum exaltation being at the 15th degree and its Moolatrikona from 15 to 20 degrees.


In Virgo, Venus struggles to express its qualities of emotions, creativity, imagination, and dreams due to the sign's analytical and logical nature. As a result, Venus is considered debilitated in Virgo, with the greatest degree of debilitation being at 27 degrees.

Virgo and Sixth House

The 6th house in astrology shares several characteristics with the sign of Virgo, such as critical thinking, practical problem-solving skills, service-oriented attitudes, and strategic thinking. It also represents the battleground where individuals engage in daily battles, set personal boundaries, and confront enemies. Additionally, the 6th house governs areas such as daily routines, work environment, physical health, and body parts.

By understanding the qualities and characteristics of Virgo, we can better comprehend the significance and implications of the 6th house in a natal chart. This includes the importance of maintaining daily routines and personal boundaries, developing practical problem-solving skills, and engaging in strategic planning and decision-making. It also highlights the need to attend to physical health and well-being, as well as navigating legal and workplace issues. Therefore, studying Virgo is essential for gaining a deeper insight into the astrological significance of the 6th house.


Beoordeeld met 0 uit 5 sterren.
Nog geen beoordelingen

Voeg een beoordeling toe
bottom of page