top of page

Uttara Bhadrapada (உத்திரட்டாதி): The Depth

Placement: 03°20’ to 16° 40’ of Pisces

Element: Ether (Space/Akash)

Uttara Bhadrapada, known for its balance and harmony, contains two stars, one in the constellation of Pegasus and the other in the constellation of Andromeda. According to some classical accounts, it is the birth nakshatra of Goddess Lakshmi, who is the consort of God Vishnu and associated with wealth and prosperity. Thus, Uttara Bhadrapada is strongly associated with abundance in all aspects of life. If Pisces is considered as the Pacific Ocean, then Uttara Bhadrapada can be compared to the Mariana Trench as it symbolizes the depth of Pisces (deepest level of the psyche).

Ruler: This nakshatra is ruled by Shani (Saturn). As the farthest visible planet in the sky, Saturn has the power to bring abundance in both positive and negative aspects. Saturn symbolizes commitment, duty, service, devotion, balance, harmony, darkness, sorrow, unknown territories, rebellious, and delays. These characteristics are all heightened in Uttara Bhadrapada, as it is the final nakshatra ruled by Saturn.

Symbol: It is symbolized by the "back legs of a funeral cot", representing the aftermath of a significant event or an ending. It also signifies the state of deep sleep when one delves into the depths of their psyche, hence it is associated with past life experiences. Another symbolism is "coiled deep sea serpent", which represents the kundalini shakti within us. Kundalini energy can awaken supernatural powers and enlightenment by activating all seven chakras of the human body.

Deity: Ahir Budhanya, one of the 11 Rudras of Lord Shiva, is the deity associated with this nakshatra. In Puranas, Ahir Budhanya is depicted as a "deep sea dragon" that lies sleeping at the murky depths of the ocean representing fertility and kundalini shakti, both of which are derived from sexual energy. As a result, this nakshatra is associated with the storage of sexual energy. However, it is a passive nakshatra and does not actively participate in sexual activities.

Uttara Bhadrapada and Revati are considered as “Lakshmi nakshatras”.

Animal: The animal associated with this nakshatra is the "cow", which holds great significance in Hindu culture. It is revered as a representation of Goddess Lakshmi because of its ability to provide milk, a precious food source after mother’s milk. Cows are often referred to as “another mother” or equal to God due to their selfless nature. In ancient times, bulls and cows were used for agriculture, milk production, and making disinfectants among other things. Cows are usually known for their docile nature, making them easy to control.

Guna: This nakshatra is sattvic in nature and focuses more on achieving purity and balance through contemplation, conversation, and other deliberate means. However, it is important to note that this nakshatra avoids destruction only when it is in a state of balance and harmony.

Power: This nakshatra symbolizes "Varsho Dyamana Shakti" which refers to the power of bringing rain. Rain here not only signifies water from the sky but also abundance in various aspects of life.

General attributes: Individuals with a significant influence of this nakshatra may display secretive traits like those of Shatabishak. They tend to take their time before making any decisions and can maintain a composed demeanor even when experiencing significant fluctuations in life. The strong connection with Kundalini Shakti in this nakshatra indicates that these individuals possess strong intuition and communication skills. They tend to have a spiritual inclination, regardless of whether the outcome is positive or negative. These individuals may exhibit a keen interest in philosophy, especially if they have Jupiter, Venus, Moon, or Rahu in this nakshatra. It should be noted that these are general characteristics, and reader discretion is advised.

Remedy: Treating cows with kindness, worshipping Lord Shiva, chanting Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra, practicing kundalini yoga, and donating regularly.

For a better understanding of this nakshatra, it is recommended to also read about its successor, Revati.


Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
bottom of page