top of page

Explaining Birth Chart and Divisional Charts

What is Ascendant/Lagna and why is it important?

Zodiac signs can be compared to planets that rise and set every day and night. The Ascendant, also known as the Lagna, is the zodiac sign that is rising in the eastern horizon at the time of a person's birth. For instance, your Ascendant sign in your birth chart is determined by the rising zodiac in the eastern horizon of your birthplace at the time of your birth. If you were born in the second half of April at the time of sunrise, then your Ascendant sign could be Aries because the Sun will be in Aries during that time period. As the Sun rises in the east, the Aries constellation will also rise in the background. The Ascendant holds the key to unlocking the mysteries of your karma. You are attached to your Ascendant sign, which is why it is referred to as Lagna in Sanskrit, meaning attachment. The basic framework of your psyche is based on your Ascendant sign, as it represents where your life begins. For instance, if your Ascendant is Taurus and the Ascendant lord is also strong, it can be said that you had a well-nourished childhood. The Ascendant can be used to determine the birth of a baby, the birth of a new business, the purchase of a new house/property, or the start of any event.

The zodiac sign, nakshatra and degree of the ascendant can reveal the fundamental nature and life path of an individual. The ascendant in a birth chart provides a general overview, while the ascendants in divisional or varga charts demonstrate how an individual will perform their karma on a different level. For instance, the D9 or Navamsha chart is related to marriage and partnership, and the ascendant in this specific chart can reveal important information about one's D9 related matters.

Birth chart

Your birth chart, also known as D1, is a snapshot of the planetary positions in the sky at the moment of your birth. By understanding your birth chart, you can get a comprehensive understanding of your life. For example, if you were born during a time when your parents were experiencing love and harmony, you may have a more nourishing upbringing. However, if you were born during a time when your parents were struggling with each other, you may encounter more challenges in life. This is why modern science recommends that parents provide a nurturing environment for their unborn child, similar to the way astrology has advised for centuries.

Your birth chart (D1) represents your physical body and the physical world around you. The planetary positions, nakshatras, signs, and houses of D1 shape your physique from head to toe. It's easy to understand why. For example, if a child is born with a powerful Sun and Jupiter, you can easily say that this child will receive and give more nourishment from and to the world around him. This is because a powerful Sun brings adequate sunlight (in April and May every year), while a powerful Jupiter brings adequate rain and freshwater (every 12 years). Sunlight and freshwater are essential for life. So, the child who is born when the world is enjoying adequate nourishment will grow well and enhance the nourishment further. This is not pseudo-science, but rather basic scientific knowledge. Astrology is like a celestial clock that reminds you of your origin and helps you understand the future because history repeats itself. Thus, fixing your physical appearance is the primary remedy to fix your D1. That's why Yoga, Ayurveda, and Siddha were practiced in ancient times to improve the condition of life. These ancient scientific practices not only heal and improve the body but also the mind.

How to read a Birth Chart?

In addition to the birth chart, there are 15 Divisional Charts, also known as Varga Charts, which are essential for making detailed analyses of specific events in your life. For example, the birth chart (D1) is used for overall analysis, the Navamsha (D9) chart is used for marriage-related analysis, and the Dashamsha (D10) chart is used for career-related analysis. All 16 charts, including the birth chart, are used for multidimensional analyses of both conscious and subconscious aspects of your life. This is not a complicated term intended to intimidate you, but rather to inform you about the depth and complexity of Vedic Astrology.

Divisional Charts

From the D1 chart, we derive 15 other divisional charts namely

  1. D2 Hora

  2. D3 Drekkana

  3. D4 Chaturtamsha

  4. D7 Saptamsha

  5. D9 Navamsha

  6. D10 Dasamsha

  7. D12 Dwadasamsha

  8. D16 Shodasamsha

  9. D20 Vimsamsha

  10. D24 Chaturvimsamsha

  11. D27 Saptavimsamsha

  12. D30 Trimsamsha

  13. D40 Khavedamsha

  14. D45 Akshavedamsha

  15. D60 Shashtiamsha

The zodiac signs in the D1 chart can be further divided into multiple parts to create different divisional charts such as D2, D3, D4, D7, and so on, based on the traditional Parashari method. Each of these charts is used to understand different aspects of a person's life, including their physical, mental, subconscious, ancestral, and individual planes.

  • The physical plane is analyzed using D1 to D12

  • the conscious mind is analyzed using D16 to D24

  • the subconscious mind using D27 and D30

  • ancestral information using D40 and D45 and

  • the soul using D60

Modern science has also recognized the importance of ancestry and its influence on an individual's life, which can be observed through the study of DNA. By comparing an individual's D9 chart to their parents' D1 chart, one can understand their mature self as it shows some level of similarity to their parents' mentality.

The process of maturity can be facilitated by having Vargottama and Bhavottama planets in your birth chart. Vargottama planets are those that occupy the same sign in both the birth chart (D1) and the divisional chart (D9). Bhavottama planets are those that are located in the same house in both D1 and D9. Having Vargottama and Bhavottama planets can enhance the strength and stability of the planets, making them more effective in the areas of life they govern. However, it is important to note that having Vargottama and Bhavottama planets is not a guarantee of a smooth and easy life.

Understanding D9 and further

Two individuals who are genetically identical may have many similarities in their D1 charts, but the way they experience life can differ greatly due to differences in their D9 chart. For example, if two individuals (A and B) with similar D1 charts face similar hardships, A may feel overwhelmed and give up, while B may take action to resolve the situation. This difference in response is due to their inner nature, as depicted in their D9 chart.

When analyzing the D40 and D45 charts, you can gain insight into past karmas. These charts can reveal the fruits of good karmas from both your ancestry and past lives. The D60 chart contains information on all the good and bad karmas you have accumulated over all your past lives. It is considered the Akashic records and contains all your past experiences. If this chart shows positive yogas, you can understand that you have done many good karmas in the past.


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page