Signs and Houses

Zodiac signs (Rashis) are the star constellations of astrology. Although 100s of constellations are there in the sky, astrology takes only the constellations that are lying at the path of the planetary motion. Houses on the other hand are nothing but signs calculated from the ascendant. Signs and Houses are different elements of astrology with many similarities. Signs are like the plate and houses are like the food. The flavour of the plate is also added to every bite of the food you intake. So you should look at both of them while reading your birth chart.

Vedic astrology has a total of 12 zodiac signs and 12 houses with each having their own unique characteristics like an inborn innate behaviour. But each and every sign has the ability to mimic others (at times) based on circumstances. For ex., Aries can sometimes act like Libra or Cancer and vice versa based on its placement, association, aspects etc. Interesting isn't it. Come let's learn about their characteristics first.

  1. Aries (Mesha) and 1st house

  2. Taurus (Rishabha) and 2nd house

  3. Gemini (Mithuna) and 3rd house

  4. Cancer (Karkataka) and 4th house

  5. Leo (Simha) and 5th house

  6. Virgo (Kanya) and 6th house

  7. Libra and 7th house

  8. Scorpio and 8th house

  9. Sagittarius and 9th house

  10. Capricorn and 10th house

  11. Aquarius and 11th house

  12. Pisces and 12th house

Note: Articles are updated regularly so come back once again if you don't find what you're looking for. The sources of these articles are taken from BPHS, Bhrigu Samhita, Nadi astrology, Manual of Astrology (western) and my observations.