top of page

Rohini (ரோகிணி): Creative Growth

Placement: 10° 00’ to 23° 20’ of Taurus

Element: Earth (Bhumi)


Rohini is known for representing the ultimate material pleasures that can be experienced through our five senses, making it the queen of all nakshatras. Adding to its significance is the fact that it is the most favored nakshatra of the Moon.

Ruler: The ruling planet of Rohini nakshatra is the Chandra (Moon), and it is believed to be his favorite among his 27 wives (representing the 27 nakshatras). According to mythology, the Moon spent a lot of time with Rohini, which is why it is considered significant. Deity: The presiding deity of Rohini is Prajapati, a term used to refer to the creator deities which includes Lord Brahma. Prajapati is often used to describe the 10 sons of Brahma, who played a significant role in populating the world with living beings. In some texts, Prajapati is also considered to be a manifestation of Lord Brahma. It should be noted that although some traditions consider Prajapati and Lord Brahma as separate deities, in others they are considered one and the same.

Symbol: The symbol of this nakshatra is the "chariot or ox cart", which represents movement, luxury, materialism, and sophistication. This nakshatra is also closely associated with bulls and cows. In addition, growing trees are often used as a symbol for this nakshatra, representing fertility and growth.

Animal: The animal associated with Rohini nakshatra is the male Cobra, known for its constant movement and adaptability. Cobras are attractive among snakes and possess potent venom, while also being able to live in various landscapes. Known for their ability to sense danger, snakes are highly intuitive and sexually active, enjoying wild and playful experiences. They have a silent and ruthless nature, with split tongues and the ability to disguise themselves, coil around their prey, and strike without warning.

Guna: The guna (quality) of Rohini nakshatra is Rajasic, which is characterized by constant activity and passion, often in a creative manner that has the potential to attract and inspire others.

Lord Krishna, one of the most revered Hindu deities, is believed to have been born in the Rohini nakshatra. Therefore, studying the celebration of Janmashtami, which commemorates his birth, can provide further insight into the significance of this nakshatra.

Power: Rohini nakshatra is associated with "Rohana Shakti," which refers to the power of growth and creation. This relates to the symbolism of the growing trees, which represent fertility and growth in this nakshatra. The energy of Rohini is focused on creating and nurturing abundance and material prosperity.

General Attributes: Rohini is associated with the feminine Grahas of Moon and Venus. Moon is representative of Goddess Parvati and Venus is representative of Goddess Lakshmi, both being the epitome of femininity and wealth respectively. As Rohini is located in the heart of Taurus, it reflects the combined qualities of Moon and Venus, thereby enhancing its feminine energy. It is noteworthy that the benefic aspect of Rohini can make all the planets auspicious, even malefic ones. Rohini is considered the most auspicious nakshatra for initiating any activity that promotes growth. People born under Rohini nakshatra may possess qualities such as creativity, artistic flair, adaptability, attraction towards luxury and sexuality. Due to their inherent beauty and allure, they may also have the ability to seduce others if they choose to do so. However, these are general traits and individual variations may apply.


Beneficial qualities: The 2nd pada of Rohini nakshatra is considered the most auspicious among all four padas. It is a Vargottama pada, meaning that the planet placed here is in the same sign in both the birth chart and the Navamsa chart, giving it extra strength and stability. Additionally, it is a "Pushkara Navamsha" pada, indicating that any planet placed here is considered to be particularly auspicious for the native, especially Moon, Venus, and Mercury as they are natural benefics.

Furthermore, the "Pushkara Bhaga," which falls on the 14th degree, is also located in the 2nd pada, making it even more auspicious. Pandits and astrologers often recommend starting any new activity, particularly marriages or businesses, during this pada due to its strong growth aspect.


Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
bottom of page