top of page

Capricorn (Makara)

Capricorn, known as Makara (मकर/மகரம்) in Sanskrit, is the tenth zodiac sign in the natural order. Its primary motto is action and ambition. As the fourth movable sign after Aries, Cancer and Libra and the third earth sign after Taurus and Virgo, it shares several qualities with its predecessors. However, being a tamasic movable earth sign, it is a unique combination. Let's explore its distinct traits.


  1. Its primary motto is action and ambition.

  2. It's the fourth movable sign after Aries, Cancer and Libra, and the third earth sign after Taurus and Virgo.

  3. Its movable nature makes it active, while its tamasic nature can make it slow/lurk.

  4. It loves stability, status, publicity, collectiveness, and practicality because it's an earth sign.

  5. It's ruled/owned by Saturn, the lord of karmic duties.

  6. It's depicted by a mythical animal that resembles a crocodile, representing slow and steadiness, physical power, and attachment to the land.

  7. It governs the knee of the kalapurusha (cosmic man).

  8. Its gender is female.

  9. Consists of three nakshatras: Uttarashadha, Shravana, and Dhanishta. Uttarashadha explains the basics of Capricorn, Shravana explains the essence, and Dhanishta explains the final concoction of Capricorn.

  10. Its direction is south.

  11. Its color is variegated (mixed).

  12. It's a mild barren sign.

  13. It's connected to countries like India, Greece, Switzerland, Monaco, New Zealand, Mexico, and the South American continent.

  14. It's connected to places like lumberjack, storehouses, arsenals, sheep pens, mountains, tall buildings, and deserts.

  15. It's connected to Muladhara (coccygeal plexus/root chakra).

  16. It's connected to Bhimashankara jyotirlinga.

  17. Its solar deity is Bhaga, and its mantra is “Om Ghrini Bhagádityáya Namah”.

  18. It's the exaltation sign of Mars, debilitation sign of Jupiter, and has no Moolatrikona.

The Mountain

Capricorn individuals are characterized by their drive towards big plans, great achievements, and notable successes. They exude a magnetic presence, even with the simplest of accomplishments, and embody the qualities of a mountain; seemingly motionless yet slowly progressing. They value order, structure, principles, and promises, and are willing to go to great lengths to fulfill them, particularly if influenced by a strong Saturn. Like a tortoise, they carry the weight of responsibility on their shoulders and utilize it as a source of strength during challenging times. Capricorns tend to be introverted and typically have few close friends, preferring to focus their energy on caring for others rather than themselves.


Given the information above, it is clear why Mars is exalted in Capricorn. As the most ambitious planet, Mars works for society without expecting anything in return. Its independent nature aligns well with Capricorn's values, and Mars reaches its deepest exaltation at 28 degrees in this sign.


Capricorn is where Jupiter experiences its debility, with the deepest debilitation point at 5 degrees.


Capricorn is the moolatrikona sign for Ketu, without any specific degrees.

Capricorn and Tenth House

The tenth house is closely associated with Capricorn and reflects similar qualities such as ambition, responsibility, leadership, and action. Capricorn's tamassic nature and focus on achieving public recognition are mirrored in the tenth house's association with career and reputation. Understanding the qualities of Capricorn is therefore essential to comprehending the significance of the tenth house in a person's astrological chart. Additionally, knowledge of Capricorn's association with specific body parts can offer further insight into potential health issues or areas of vulnerability for an individual.


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page